RSS

One Question

12 Sep

Last week I began reading Francine River‘s Sons of Encouragement, I’m currently on the story of Aaron. The more I read, the more irritated I get. I mean COME ON!!

That reaction is to the attitude of the Israelites. Even with physical evidence, they didn’t trust God. Their trust was totally dependent on their needs being met. As soon as their puny little minds believed that God was holding back on them, all hell would break loose. They actually wanted to go back to captivity.

Scrap the fact that he had proved himself by showing them all those signs and wonders back in Egypt. Heck, the Red Sea parting… erase that! The Manna & Quail…pssh! They wanted water and they wanted water NOW!!

Yet, even as my face betrayed my disgust for the attitude they portrayed, I was reminded of the millions of times, I too had demanded water. ‘Did you bring me to this point to kill me??’ I asked as I raised my fist at God.

You see, I believe in what I see, touch and feel. The physical. This supernatural mumbo jumbo just doesn’t cut it. However, when I look over the past year, the Physical has disappointed me at almost every turn. Every time, I put my trust in what I saw, disaster befell me, literally.

Which begs the question: Why do we trust some much in the tangible even though, it has disappointed us numerous times? God who on the other hand doesn’t change, is much harder to trust because we cannot see him and hardly ever hear him.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in Devotions, GOD, HIM, Life

 

3 responses to “One Question

  1. Nev

    September 12, 2011 at 8:30 am

    We easily forget. That is the main problem.

     
    • therisingpage

      September 12, 2011 at 11:49 am

      hmm… forget or just refuse to trust.

       
  2. petesmama

    September 15, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Munange, we’re just spoilt. What can I say?

     

Tell me, what do you think?