RSS

Hello Feb. Hello Cold. Hello TRP

01 Feb

Its 2am and am so very wide awake. Listening to the sounds happening all around me – the rain trying very hard to fall, broken tree branch hitting against a tree trunk, whistling wind, calendar hitting against the wall, curtains banging against window frames and the distant sound of barking dogs.

I’m wondering why I’m not attempting to feign sleep maybe he will have mercy on me and grant me a little reprieve. I woke up to a text – hence the reason my mind refuses to rest. The wonder of when my day break will come keeps me up. The fantasy of the doom that seems to lie in wait keeps my mind alert.

For the first time in days, the night wind is calming me – but I cannot even begin to enjoy it. He seems angry though, the rushing seems to keep increasing with the frequency of curtain banging. The distant rumbling of thunder promises release probably around day break.

Why is it so much easier to pray for rain than it is to pray for peace and calm? Is it because our lives are so used to chaos and turmoil that we can easily relate to it? Or is it because in certain parts even in the midst of a drought, rain is certainty?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2011 in Life

 

7 responses to “Hello Feb. Hello Cold. Hello TRP

  1. Ug girl

    February 1, 2011 at 10:19 am

    a text a 2am….:-)

    Maybe it is easier to pray for rain b’se we sometimes take peace and calm for granted sometimes…

    BTW – i got my word fr the year -Still in reference to ‘i will be still and know you a God’

     
    • therisingpage

      February 1, 2011 at 10:51 am

      @Ug girl; Hun,
      never read 2am texts… they aint no good

       
  2. nev

    February 1, 2011 at 11:09 am

    You guys are talking about texts….hmmm, how do you handle a 2am call?

    As for TRP, I loved this post…been long since I read something like this.

    I love the rain of late, as for peace…. Php 4:6-7…

     
  3. McKeith

    February 1, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Texts at 2am, that’s so like normal. But who was that who sent you a text at that time.

     
  4. lulu

    February 4, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    woah

     
  5. Jeremiah Kenzi

    February 4, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Beautifully writ, Page.

    It’s amazing how our internal emotional turmoil somehow transcends the metaphysical and manifests itself in the physical. Then again, it could be a warped perception, seen through misty eyes.

    I love this piece.

     
  6. Sibo

    February 5, 2011 at 11:35 am

    You have been nominated….pick your award at mine!

     

Tell me, what do you think?

 
