RSS

New Year Resolutions…

11 Jan

So you know the ritual/routine – What are your resolutions this year? Blah Blah Blah…

I actually found my self writing a couple of things down this year, for the first time in a long long long while…

But this morning, my random scan through my Facebook Home page, brought this blog to my attention. The post title is: One Word 2011.

One Word that is going to shape your 2011… Have you done it before?

Here is a little snippet from the blog:

I’ve never been a New Year’s resolutions girl.One Word 2011

I just can’t bring myself to do it. I think I tried once. And a few months later when I couldn’t even remember what my resolutions were — or where my list was — I felt like a miserable failure.

And I’ve never resolutioned again.

But last year I decided to choose one word to focus on. My own personal non-resolution resolution.

No list. No specifics. No goals. Just one word.

Risk.

And I stayed mindful of it all year.

It helped me make decisions. Take steps. Share my heart. It spurred me on. Challenged me. Inspired me. I loved it and I hated it, but I didn’t forget it.

My Word is: Intimacy…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2011 in Inspiration, Life

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “New Year Resolutions…

  1. jake

    January 11, 2011 at 7:34 am

    “JERRY: I don’t understand…I made a reservation. Do you have my reservation?
    AGENT: Yes, we do. Unfortunately, we ran out of cars.
    JERRY: But, the reservation keeps the car here. That’s why you have the reservation.
    AGENT: I know why we have reservations.
    JERRY: I don’t think you do. If you did, I’d have a car. See, you know how to take the reservation–you just don’t know how to hold the reservation. And, that’s really the most important part of the reservation…the holding. Anybody can just TAKE them. [grabs chaotically at air]
    And, how weirdly similar is that to our conflicted relationship with New Year’s resolutions?
    In Seinfeldspeak?
    See, you know how to make the resolution, you just don’t know how to keep the resolution. And, that’s really the most important part of the resolution…the keeping. Anybody can just MAKE them!
    Oversimplified? Probably.
    But, ask yourself. Why this? And, why now? Or, why again?”
    Scott Adams (Bloke wot writes Dilbert).

     
  2. nev

    January 11, 2011 at 9:21 am

    God speed with your word.

     
  3. heaven!

    January 11, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Just finished reading eat.pray.love and Gilbert actually talks about each of us having a word.even cities have words that describe them/they stand for.

    my statement for this year is pursuit of relevance so I guess my word would be relevance!

    let’s see where these words take us:)

     
  4. Ug girl

    January 11, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Well if don’t have one word. I have a phrase for 2011 – ‘Back to Basics’…And i am still smiling two weeks in..

    🙂 happy new year hun..XX

     
  5. McKeith

    January 13, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Failed to locate my one word for the 2011… But make sure you spread yours. 🙂

     
  6. smelling the coffee

    February 12, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    i really like the idea of one word.
    i have done ‘courage’ for awhile now. time to get a new one… intimacy is a recipe for some interesting times ahead.
    hello trp.

     

Tell me, what do you think?

 
