RSS

Processing Ideas: How do you do it??

23 Nov

Creativity. Genius. Madness. Thoughts. Seeds.

Do you ever have those random days where almost anything will inspire you – from listening to Podcasts, to watching the early morning news, to looking at the commuter traffic, to looking in the mirror. Ideas are just seem to be floating all around you at a fast rate.

I recently found an interesting article on this subject.

Three Ways I Process Ideas | Ron Edmondson

You are more likely to remember ideas that you write down. I’m always impressed (and slightly nervous) in the restaurants when the waiter doesn’t write down my order, but while this may work for short-term activities, it doesn’t for long-term. Find a system of recording the ideas that come to you. Right now, for me, that’s Evernote.  I have used notepads, notes on my iPhone, notebooks, etc. It doesn’t matter what you use as much as that it be a tool you have easy access to throughout the day. Use the napkin method if that’s all you have, but I find having the same tool with me each time an idea comes to me helps me keep up with the ideas better. Ideas hit you randomly, so be prepared to record them as they come.

Read the full article here…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2010 in Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Processing Ideas: How do you do it??

  1. jake

    November 23, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    I personally use a tool called evernote. Right now it only supports android, windows and iOS phones. That is very annoying because I too get ideas and inspiration from many places. And don’t always have a pc nearby. The beauty of evernote is that it sinks with the net so that you can make a note then, save then resume wherever you are by accessing it on the net. I have saved pictures, mp3s and video files.

    It is free for none pro accounts. For other phones i have notebooks on them then i also schedule/flag tasks for follow up as a means to remember so that at the end of the day, i can sync them to pc, assign resources or close them depending on status. learning to outlook full edition is a plus here and having a phone that can synch to outlook helps too (since office 2010 sony ericsson phones can’t sync to outlook). talking of sync, google has opened their sync to phones and software so that is a solution too.

    lastly, i always try to finish all pending issues, ideas or thought when i have them so that i don’t forget. I like to have a clean slate.

     
  2. jake

    November 23, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    evernote also allows collaboration so one can share notes with other people in a secure and controlled way.

     
  3. therisingpage

    November 23, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    lol – I use, pen and paper 😉

     
  4. Ron Edmondson

    November 23, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    Thanks for sharing my post here!

     

Tell me, what do you think?

 
