RSS

Veronica…

30 Oct

Veronica…

Back then, you know, Loong long ago, Veronica used to stay with us. She had just joined campus and since our home was near to the great hill than hers, it was decided that she come and stay with us.

I think I was still in primary school, she was like the big sister I never got to meet. Dad called her Veron, for some reason mummy only spoke to her in Luganda. Then there was us, the children, forever to call her ‘veerroooo’.

My bestest time was when we power would go off. It is only now that I realise, she had a very active imagination. Vero would come u with stories, goodness, I remember when she told us about “Pretty Woman” – I watched the movie years later and I preffered her version.

“Vero sing us a song” – my sister and I would say in unison. Since we shared a room, she would tuck us in and then sing the same song – of course she told it as a story then sang the last part:

Sad Movies (Always Make Me Cry) – Sue Thompson

Sa-a-a-d movies always make me cry
He said he had to work so I went to the show alone
They turned down the lights and turned the projector on
And just as the news of the world started to begin
I saw my darlin’ and my best friend walk in
Though I was sittin’ there they didn’t see
And so they sat right down in front of me
When he kissed her lips I almost died
And in the middle of the color cartoon I started to cry.
Oh-oh-oh sa-a-a-d movies always make me cry
Oh-oh-oh sa-a-a-d movies always make me cry
And so I got up and slowly walked on home
And mama saw the tears and said “what’s wrong?”
And so to keep from telling her a lie
I just said “sa-a-a-d movies make me cry”
Oh-oh-oh sa-a-a-d movies always make me cry
Oh-oh-oh sa-a-a-d movies always make me cry
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh
Sa-a-a-d movies make me cry-i-i

Because we slept like logs, we had no idea that she used to read in the night. She was also a novel reader, back then MB’s were the in thing (Mills and Boon)…I think I read my first MB somewhere in primary.

Stories of campus – She had these friends….Banange you think TV/Movie University is woo/dope. There was always something about her friends each evening, who had a crush on who, who sent us greetings, what happened in class…

In her classic very deep voice, she would say, “Banange gwe”, “Gundi, come back here” or her a rich throaty laugh, Boy was she ticklish!!!

Then I was sent to some Camp like-so (Boarding school) and when I came back…She was gone!

She lives so far right now that visiting isn’t possible….I really miss those days.

Everyone should have a Vero atleast once in their lives.

PS: LOL, no countdown poster today 🙂 yay, just jump over to twitter and join the AWESOME countdown

Also new blogger alert: Show some love

Paulo – Mine

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2009 in Life

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Veronica…

  1. normzo

    October 30, 2009 at 7:25 am

    sockissss

     
  2. normzo

    October 30, 2009 at 8:05 am

    I had a verooo of my own… Called Esther(RIP). I do miss her.

     
  3. Ugandan girl

    October 30, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    I had i Veroooo too she was called Deborah….then my brothers kicked her outta the house..long story

     
  4. Sleek

    October 30, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    I haven’t had one…(sob sob)..but i had an aunt who told us a story or two

     
  5. Princess

    October 31, 2009 at 6:31 am

    I had a Vero. And get this, her name IS Vero. LOL. No joke. 🙂

     
  6. lulu

    November 2, 2009 at 5:22 am

    my aunt who passsed oin was a vero

     
  7. Sibo

    November 2, 2009 at 9:52 am

    I have had agood number of Veros in my life! They moved on….

     
  8. Payo

    November 3, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I had a Vero too…sadly she got married and left. Three kids later, she is no longer fun to be around anymore. I wonder why…

     

Tell me, what do you think?

 
