RSS

Children and Pictures

01 Oct

For some reason, I almost always notice children that live in Kampala.

I saw a little girl brushing her teeth. She would raise the yellow slightly heavy jerrycan (formerly contained Golden Fry oil) to her mouth. Then came the projectile spit into the road.

Then a 12 year old girl telling off a 10 year old boy on their way to school, “I have said, don’t talk to me” with her nose up in the air.

The four year old boy walking with his 3 year old sister in hand. They stop and wait of every car to pass by. If you are driving a Terrano, Nissan Mistral or one of those big trucks and they darted into the road – you wouldn’t see them.

The Makerere College boy riding his bicycle to school. He has to leave home early, so that he can ride at his own pace.

This morning, one of my friends sent me a link to a site that I hear has some of the best pictures…boston.com/bigpicture. Anyway, the pictures though really good, bring you back to reality: the ones below are of children in the Philippines (A week ago, a typhoon landed)…Here’s the link to the whole set of pictures

carry

boys

children

girl

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2009 in Life

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Children and Pictures

  1. Munish Gupta

    October 1, 2009 at 7:41 am

    the last one is really beautiful

     
  2. Heaven!

    October 1, 2009 at 8:21 am

    oh dear God the first pic!felt cold just looking at it…and i love that the website is called The Big Picture.very comprehensive!

     
  3. normzo

    October 1, 2009 at 8:31 am

    these are very lovely pictures… and touching at the same time

    so coz of this i’m going to be noticing kids as of today.

     
  4. jny23

    October 1, 2009 at 9:06 am

    A MACOS kid riding a bicycle to school. I pictured my self on a bicycle to school back then.haha

    very touching pix.

     
  5. Nev

    October 1, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Sweet school MACOS…

     
  6. Ug girl

    October 1, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    for on reason or the other i can relate to these kids through the stages of my childhood. Someone told me this week mbu am feeling brewdy

     
  7. TRP

    October 2, 2009 at 4:15 am

    @Munish: I like the little Girl’s pic too.
    @Heaven: 🙂 I know…I love the site too
    @Normzo: Thats a positive first step….noticing the ‘Little’ things
    @Jny23ug: You rode a bike to school?
    @Nev: so whats with Macos?
    @ugGal: hey lov, wat’s going on?

     

Tell me, what do you think?

 
