RSS

Memories Memories

19 Feb

This morning i listened to this on my way to work:

Well, honey it ain’t your money
Cause baby I got plenty of that

I used to love that song when i was little

I love you for your pink Cadillac
Crushed velvet seats
Riding in the back, oozing down the street
Waving to the girls
PEELING out of sight
Spending all my money on a Saturday night
Honey, I just wonder what you do there in back of your pink Cadillac

The really crazy thing about it is that we had the video 😀

Anyway, that took me down memory lane, my old favs

These Dreams – Heart

These dreams go on when I close my eyes
Every second of the night I live another life
These dreams that sleep when its cold outside
Every moment Im awake the further Im away
Theres something out there
I cant resist

Then there was

One thing that never changes
No matter what
I cant wait to see you
Cant wait to feel you
And theres a place of our own, where we can go
Nobody knows
I close my eyes real tight

Yeah i was a Shawn Stockman Fan….(sigh)…Still am 🙂

(If you are bored, please move on…I just can’t help it….Have to put this one up)

(excuse me, I know we just met
But may I have this dance? )0

Sitting here with a drink in my hand
Your presence I cant ignore
I must admit I like watching you dance
But it seems like Ive seen this before
Girl, you look like my first wife
Though Ive never been married before
So I kiss your hand and tell you thank you
You turn and ask me what for

1 – for our first kiss on next week
For when we make love in six weeks
For the ring you wore proudly three months from now
For when you said i do next march
And for those beautiful children of ours
Yes, I know it might sound strange cuz we just met
But I thank you in advance

(shawn, help me sing it)

Hi, my name is shawn
Tell me your name
Although I know the last one
Its funny that were shaking hands
[wait a minute, I know this hand]
Its the same hand (Ill hold in front of a minister)
Same hand (when youre havin my son and his sister)
I dont mean to sound so bold and forward
But I thank you in advance

Its like I came back in time to tell you thank you
Youre as beautiful then as you are now
Look in the mirror, there is a picture
Of you and the man you love

**********

There was a time when I thought life was over and out
When you went away from me
My dying heart made it hard to breathe
Would sit in my room
Because I didnt want to have to go out
And see you walking by
One look and Id break right down and cry
Now you say that youve made a big mistake
Never meant to take your love away
But you can save your tired apologies
cause it may seem hard to believe
But

Im doin just fine
Getting along very well
Without you in my life
I dont need you in my life
Im doin just fine
Time made me stronger
Youre no longer on my mind
You were my earth
My number one priority
I gave me love to only you
Anything youd ask of me
I would do
But somewhere down the road
You felt a change in the weather
And told me that you had to journey on
A kiss in the wind and your love was gone
Now you say you never meant to play your games
Girl, dont you know its far too late
Because you let our love just fall apart
You no longer have my heart

.…………Have to get back to work now…………………

 
19 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2009 in Life

 

Tags:

19 responses to “Memories Memories

  1. Princess

    February 19, 2009 at 5:42 am

    You make this too easy!
    Socksies! 🙂

     
  2. Princess

    February 19, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Oba I don’t recognise any song? 😦
    Please change the colour on the darker font,I could barely make out what you saying.

     
  3. Princess

    February 19, 2009 at 5:46 am

    *were

     
  4. therisingpage

    February 19, 2009 at 6:05 am

    @ Princess: sorry… 😀
    And now can you read em? I refuse to beliv you dont know any

     
  5. Princess

    February 19, 2009 at 6:38 am

    I can see them [the words] now. But youtubing hasn’t helped me ‘remember’ the songs, so…

     
  6. 3TOC

    February 19, 2009 at 7:44 am

    You had me at Shawn Stockman.Infact let me dig out said CD. I stalk anything BOYZ II MEN and growing up we used to call Shawn Stockman, the ka-nyarwanda (because he just looks like he belongs there).

     
  7. therisingpage

    February 19, 2009 at 8:34 am

    @ 3TOC, you are offically my friend for life!!!

    @ Princess,
    Pink Cadillac – Natalie Cole
    These Dreams – Heart
    Dreams, Thank you in Advance, Doin just fine – Boyz II Men

     
  8. Be silent

    February 19, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Ha Boyz 2 Men always brought out that other me…..

     
  9. Igis

    February 19, 2009 at 9:53 am

    The Natalie Cole song…the only words I used to hear were ‘Pink Cadillac’ and my mind would get stuck there wondering what it looks like

     
  10. therisingpage

    February 19, 2009 at 10:51 am

    @ bSilent: You and me both

    @ Igis: I wonder why that was hard 😉

     
  11. Nev

    February 19, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Boyz II Men…

    Motownphilly’s back again
    Doin’ a little east coast fling
    Boyz II Men going off
    Not too hard, not too soft

    I love that song..great vocals

     
  12. Mr. B2B...

    February 19, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    plush velvet seats…
    man, TRP…
    me and my big sister both used to yell that song in the shower…

    spending all my money on a Saturday night!!!

    Thanks for sharing the memoirs then

    about BIIM, there was that track they did with LL Cool J…
    Hey Lover…

    anyways, even 4seasons, and the one they did which was done by New Edition… stand the rain!!

     
  13. The Emrys

    February 19, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    b2b dawg, i still feel on hey lover and thank you in advance. my fave BIIM songs. natalie cole was in a class of her own

     
  14. feather

    February 19, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    i only remember boyz 2 men. never been good at remembering these songs. figures i guess, princess is my sister.

     
  15. Princess

    February 19, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I know Dreams! Lol. Thanks, I’ll go find the songs now,

     
  16. DoomsDay

    February 20, 2009 at 6:18 am

    I’ll have to get my eyes checked..reached half way then realised I should just listen to the song..it seams good. And also check out some of those recommendations

     
  17. petesmama

    February 20, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Mmmm… memories indeed. Love Pink Cadillac, and Boys to Men were the teen crush music of my time. I will always love them.

    Do you like Visions of a Sunset?

     
  18. TRP

    February 21, 2009 at 9:53 am

    @ Nev, Haven’t heard that one..will look for it.
    @ B2B, lol i’ll always love pink Cadillac
    @ Princess, hope you like them
    @ Emi, this alter ego thing (Doomsday)?!? Did you like them?
    @ Pmama, (Sigh) Av got tears in my eyes now..My BFF loved that song then it got contagious….

     
  19. Ugandan girl

    February 21, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    @TRP hun who is shawn stockman…kale i dont know any of these songs..oba where was i…?

     

Tell me, what do you think?

 
